COMMISSIONER Jared S. Chicoine

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER Christopher J. Ellms, Jr.

## **STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE**



TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

Tel. (603) 271-3670

Website: www.energy.nh.gov

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10 Concord, N.H. 03301-2429

September 6, 2023

Robert Ludlow Chief Financial Officer ISO New England 1 Sullivan Road Holyoke, Massachusetts 01040

Mr. Ludlow,

We appreciate and welcome the opportunity to offer feedback on ISO-NE's proposed budget. The New England states have an important job in reviewing the budget, as our ratepayers are ultimately responsible for every cost that goes into their bills. Unfortunately, we write expressing our discomfort with the 2024 and 2025 preliminary budget.

ISO-NE's proposed budget raises significant concerns and calls for strict scrutiny, given the 21.5 percent increase in the ISO's revenue requirement. The ISO board has adopted a resolution to consider customer affordability, and this proposed increase works against that goal. More than half of the increase is driven by salary increases, including increases to bonuses. The ISO is a non-profit entity – there shouldn't be a drive for more and more revenue – and this budget lacks that vision.

Significant cost increases are attributed to the clean energy transition and environmental justice policies legislated by other states. These are clear examples of costs shifting to New Hampshire citizens that fall outside of the ISO's mandate. Furthermore, thirty-five full-time, highly compensated jobs are being devoted to the so-called grid of the future, when what we really need is a reliable, affordable system today.

We're disappointed that our grid operator has proposed a budget misaligned with the needs of New Hampshire's ratepayers during a time of already high energy costs and economic uncertainty for so many. ISO-NE should reconsider its priorities, devote resources to its core functions, and put forth a responsible budget that focuses on safe, reliable, and affordable energy.

Sincerely,

Jared Chicoine Commissioner Department of Energy

arel (

Donald M. Kreis Consumer Advocate Office of the Consumer Advocate

lan

SNIEL C GUINES

Daniel C. Goldner

leta

Chairman Public Utilities Commission

Pradip K. Chattopadhyay Commissioner Public Utilities Commission

Carleton B. Simpson Commissioner **Public Utilities Commission**